tresor-huy-CGT-Arnaud-Siquet-Musee.jpgUn monsieur qui visite le trésor de la collégiale de Huy
©CGT Arnaud Siquet

HUY, for history and culture buffs

Huy has a rich and tumultuous medieval past

His history hangs on the old stones and cobbled streets of the old town, as well as its imposing Collegiate Church, an admirable 14th-century Gothic structure. But that’s not all… The 18th and 19th centuries left a legacy of fine homes that can still be admired today. And let’s not forget the 20th century, which left its mark on the town’s history, and whose memory can be seen at the Fort de Huy.


Strolling through old Huy

With its cobbled streets and remarkable buildings, the old town takes you back in time to Huy’s past. Feel the medieval atmosphere that once enlivened the streets of Huy.

Extend your stroll and take the opportunity to discover the remains of the ramparts that once encircled and protected the town.

Plan and itinerary of Huy available from the Tourist Office.

An exceptional heritage

The foundation stone of the Gothic collegiate church was laid in 1311, construction of the choir was completed in 1377 and the whole in 1536. The building is a happy blend of 14e century and flamboyant 15the.

The massive western tower houses the famous Rondia, Wallonia’s largest radiant Gothic rose window.

Open May 1 to October 31
Tuesday to Sunday, 10:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 6:00 pm.

Open from November 1 to April 30
Tuesday to Sunday, 10:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm

In the Romanesque crypt, the treasure trove is on display, with its centerpieces being four shawls of 12th- and 13th-century Mosan silverware.

Celle de la Vierge, whose restoration was completed for the redevelopment of the Romanesque crypt.

The chapels of Saint-Mengold and Saint-Domitien, and the chapel of Saint-Marc with its remarkable enamels.

Behind the collegiate church, the Bethlehem portal (14th) features scenes relating to the nativity.

Built by the Dutch between 1818 and 1823 on the site of the former castle (Li Tchestia), the Fort was transformed into a detention camp by the German army.

From May 1940 to September 5, 1944, more than 7,000 prisoners were incarcerated here. Today, the Fort has become a place of remembrance of the Second World War, and remains an intact testimony to the Nazi concentration camp universe. Cachots, interrogation rooms, detention chambers… but also museum space and panorama of Huy are to be discovered.

April to October: weekdays 9:30am to 5pm – Weekends and public holidays: 10am to 6pm – July and August: daily 10am to 6pm


Guided tours and cruises

Each season, the Tourist Office offers a repertoire of themed guided tours to discover Huy, its heritage and history.
The agenda is available on request from the Tourist Office.
These tours are also available à la carte for groups.

A dive into local history

Musée communal

Installed in the former convent of the Friars Minor, built in the middle of the 13th century and rebuilt in the 17th century, the Musée Communal comprises ten rooms covering all the activities of the Hutois from prehistory to the present day. With a particular focus on fine and decorative arts, the museum also presents archaeological, ethnographic and industrial archaeology objects. The “Beau Dieu” from Huy, a major work of 13th-century wood sculpture, is one of the museum’s highlights.

Musée de la Vie Tihangeoise

The Musée de la vie tihangeoise, housed in the former town hall, displays tools, objects and models relating to life in days gone by. You can see our (great)grandparents’ kitchen, an elementary school classroom from the early 20th century, a bell foundry, works by local artists and writers…
Temporary exhibitions of rare and/or curious objects are held from time to time.

The Museum of Tihange Life, housed in the former town hall, features tools, objects and models relating to life in the past.